MOTOR VEHICLE AND TRAILER EXCISE

Under Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 60A, an excise shall be assessed
on every motor vehicle and trailer registered during the calendar year.

THE EXCISE
The excise is imposed on the privilege of registering a motor vehicle and is not a property tax. It therefore applies

to anyone who registers a motor vehicle in Massachusetts.
Each vehicle is taxed from the first day of the month in which it is registered for the balance of the year.
The proceeds become a part of the general funds of the municipality and have the effect of reducing the property

tax.

The rate of $25.00 per thousand which shall be effective for calendar year 1981 excises and thereafter is uniform

ughout the Commonwealth. No excise shall be for less than $5.00 for 1985 and thereafter.
Non-payment will result in additional charges and may lead to revocation of the vehiclé’ registration and suspension

of the taxpayer’s license. For 1985 and thereafter payment is due in 30 days from date of bill,

thro

THE VALUE

The value of a motor vehicle for excise purposes is determined by the Commissioner of Revenue at varying per-
centages of the manufacturer’s list price in the year of manufacture as follows:

In the year preceding the designated year of manufacture 50%

In the year of manufacture 90%

In the second year 60%

In the third year 40%

In the fourth year 25%

10%

In the fifth and succeeding years
Condition and market value are not considerations in determining the value, nor is age after the fifth year.

ASSESSMENT

An excise is assessed on a motor vehicle or trailer by the assessors of the municipality in which the vehicle is custom-
arily garaged. The excise is based on information furnished on the application for registration. Any correction of
name, model, registration number, make or year of manufacture must be recorded with the Registry of Motor Vehicles.

ABATEMENTS

An abatement is in order in the following cases:
1) When the motor vehicle is sold and the registration is cancelled or when the vehicle is traded for another vehicle.

2) When a registrant and motor vehicle are transferred to anather state or country with proof of registration in such
other state or country and proof of cancellation of registration in Massachusetts.

3) When a motor vehicle is overvalued.

4) When there is subsequent registration of the same vehicle in the same year by the same person.

5) When vehicle is stolen and notification of theft within 48 hours is given to police and certificate of registration sur-
rendered not less than thirty (30) days after the theft and certificate from Registry verifying same.

A proportionate abatement of the excise may be granted if any of the above conditions is met and the application is

properly filed,
Forms for applying for abatement will be mailed on request from the assessors’ office.

Application for abatement or refund must be filed with the Board of Assessors in writing on an approved form on
or before December 31 of the year following the year for which the excise is assessed.

PENALTIES
The excise is due and payable within 30 days of the date of issue. If not paid when due,

interest, demand, charges and fees.
A motor vehicle and trailer excise remaining unpaid after the due date must be reported by the Collector of the

municipality to the Registrar of Motor Vehicles for suspension of registration.

Registration can also be suspended for unpaid excises of the previous year.
. Ifa registration is suspended, a filing fee of $10.00 together with payment of delinquent excises is required to restore
it. Your license to operate any vehicle may also be suspended after a hearing by the Registrar of Motor Vehicles.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION

CONTACT YOUR
LOCAL BOARD OF ASSESSORS BOARD OF ASSESSORS
Massachusetts

it is subject to penalties of
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